About LASSA

Home / About LASSA

LASSA Front_500

Workshop_500

LASSA is a settlement and social services agency that started in 1989 by concerned Canadians as a response to persons experiencing forced departure as a result of internecine strife in war torn Near Eastern countries. The agency was officially incorporated June 4th, 1993 as a non-profit organization (Corporation Number 291041-1 issued by Industry Canada-Corporations Canada). LASSA is registered as a charitable organization (number 135253508RR0001 issued by Charities Directorate-Canada Revenue Agency).

 

Our Mission

LASSA strives to provide the highest quality services to facilitate and expedite the settlement and integration of new Canadians in general and Arabic-speaking ones in particular.

Our objective is to operate a social services agency which will assist in:

  • Settlement, orientation, education and integration of Lebanese and Arabic-speaking immigrants into the Canadian community
  • Providing all necessary social services in furtherance thereof
  • Fostering and promoting an understanding, learning and appreciation for the Arabic language, traditions, and diverse cultures amongst Canadian Society.
  • Promoting and supporting humanitarian and charitable causes amongst all members of the Canadian community.

In collaboration with community partners and government services, we are always in the process of developing and improving integration tools and resources that effectively support our clients in receiving timely and relevant services that meet their needs and facilitate the access of available services.

There is no cost to receive our in-house services. However some fees may apply in accessing third party services. Respecting and maintaining confidentiality of our clients’ information is highly important to us and we strive to provide a welcoming environment to all members of the community without any discrimination.

To increase service efficiency and versatility, we currently provide services in the following languages:

  • Arabic
  • English
  • French
  • Armenian

 

President: Ms. Rita Chalabi
Vice President: Mr. Fadi Rizk
Treasurer: Mr. Sam Khairallah
Executive Director: Mr. Fred Awada
Our team is made up of dedicated and experienced professionals seeking the best interest of the clients and maintaining high levels of confidentiality including abidance to PIPEDA* ; LASSA abides by legislation respecting and safeguarding equity and access, including the Charter of Rights and Freedoms and the Ontario Human Rights Code.

Staff Name Position E-mail Ext.
Fred Awada Executive Director fawada@lassa.ca 222
Dounia Rizk Administrative Assistant drizk@lassa.ca 230
Sid Samaha Foreign Credentials Specialist ssamaha@lassa.ca 223
Rita Attieh Settlement Counsellor rita@lassa.ca 226
Maral Boudakian Social Services Worker mboudakian@lassa.ca 225
Naim Assemani Clinical Counsellor nassemani@lassa.ca 224
Daline Ayoub Return to Employment Coordinator dayoub@lassa.ca 245
Samia Ben Salah Job Search Workshop Facilitator / Employment Counsellor sbsalah@lassa.ca 229
(*) PIPEDA: Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act. A Canadian law relating to data privacy